Sugar (Fructose) Free Zucchini Bread

If you are looking for a great sugar free cream cheese frosting to fill this with, look here -> Sugar Free Cream Cheese Frosting / Filling

As of a week and two days ago, I decided to go sugar free. I got this inspiration from another blogger and author, Sarah Wilson. I picked up her book, I Quit Sugar, on accident at my local Public Library. Obviously it was an accident, because anyone who knows me, knows I can’t live without sweets. You’d never catch me in an ice cream shop with out a couple scoops of butter pecan ice cream in a waffle cone, or in a bakery without a blueberry cream cheese crumb topped muffin… or at least a hazelnut frappe.

Sarah’s book is loaded with over 100 recipes, all of which look absolutely amazing. Even when the main ingredient might be beets and kale, she knows how to make it look deserving of sharing a spot on the thanksgiving counter nestled somewhere between the twice baked macaroni and the sweet potato casserole. Speaking of which, her sweet potato casserole recipe looks like a winner too.

While I have not directly made any of her recipes, I have used some of her kitchen “hacks”, so I must give credit where credit is due. In her book, I Quit Sugar, she suggest making coconut butter using a food process or blender on pg. 182. She suggest using a package of shredded unsweetened coconut and simply blending until it forms a paste. Before I decided to go sugar free, I tried this little hack using a fresh coconut I cracked myself, and I must admit, it is the “damn tastiest thing in this book”, and I haven’t even made one other recipe (Wilson, 2013). Also, lets point out how economical this form of butter is to cow butter. 1 coconut costs me $1.50 and I get about 2 cups of butter from this. 4 sticks (2 cups) of regular conventional butter costs me $3.50. You do the math. This one trick made me a believer in Sarah, and gave me the willingness to trust her with my sugar cravings and try the 8 week sugar kick plan she has in her book. The book is loaded with tons of information about her self, the diet, what sugar is, and how to convert over to a sugar free cook.

I have always loved cooking more than just about anything. Cooked an entire thanksgiving dinner at the age of 15. Brined my turkey just the way I saw Alton Brown do it, and set my sweet potatoes out in the sun the day before because Barefoot Contessa said it’ll make them sweeter. For the past year now I have made a serious attempt to clean up my diet. I tend to buy more locally grown products, staying away from conventional meat and dairy. I have become what I call an intuitive eater. But I still have one bad habit gnawing at me and just like Sarah says in her book, “I hid behind the so-called “healthy sugars” like honey, dark chocolate, and fruit” (Wilson, 2013).

As much as I love cooking, I love a challenge. I already had many staples for healthy eating, like those found in Sarah’s book (almond flour, coconut oil, stevia, etc.) The first week I concentrated on just cutting back on sugar slowly as she suggested, meaning no fruits, or anything with high fructose corn syrup, honey, etc. Fructose is the enemy. As I am going into week 2, 3 days being 100% fructose free, my very intense sugar cravings are very low. I am attempting to lean out, and eating 1300-1400 calories a day, I felt like the small amounts of sweets were my only little joys. I knew this sugar free thing was going to get really tough once I cut out the fructose. I found that cutting out fructose wasn’t just sweets, it was a lot of processed foods as well. My diet has been very simple and basic the past 10 days. Tonight I was ready to take to the kitchen for some baking. My heart was breaking to see my neighbors zucchini she gave me sitting out going to waste if not used soon.

Note, my cravings as stated have gone away, and I already feel free from sugar!

I introduce to you, the sugar free Zucchini Bread that taste better than my usual sugar and fat loaded zucchini bread.

Makes 2 small loaves  

Ingredients 

1 cup rice flour

½ cup almond flour

½ cup oat flour

½ cup whole quick cooking oats, uncooked

1 teaspoon baking powder

1  teaspoon baking soda

generous pinch of salt

½ cup of stevia granulated *

2 heaping teaspoons of your favorite spices (I used 1 t. cinnamon, ½ t. allspice, ½ t. ginger)

3 eggs

2 teaspoons chia seeds or ground flax

3/4 cup homemade coconut butter or any other natural butter

1 heaping tablespoon of your favorite oil (I used coconut)

1 Tablespoon vanilla extract

2½ – 3 cup zucchini shredded and excess water drained, but not dried

additional nuts (I used ¼ cup ground black walnut because they are bitter, but when baked taste phenomenal. Sprinkled loafs with sliced almonds for crunch) If using regular walnuts use ~ 2 cups.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

INSTRUCTIONS

Mix the first 9 ingredients together in a big bowl. I make my oat flour by putting whole oats into blender.

Mix the rest of the wet ingredients using a whisk + shredded zucchini last, excluding the nuts, in a separate bowl.

 

Mix the wet zucchini mixture into dry mixture and add nuts.

Pour the batter into two small GREASED AND FLOURED loaf pans. Bake at 365 for 35 minutes, or until wooden pick comes out clean from the center. Let cool for 20 minutes before slicing into it.

 

*Add more stevia or rice syrup for added sweetness. This is the perfect amount of sweetness for me, as I will have a slice or two for breakfast when my taste buds are still waking up!

ENJOY

 
Author: Courtney Simpson

I am a Purdue University Mechatronics Major, currently in my Junior year. I have worked closely with other Engineering students on some really amazing projects, and have big ideas I hope to implement some day in the tech world! If I'm not at school being an engineer, I am either at the gym lifting heavy objects, or I'm in my art room or kitchen letting my creativity run loose. My passions are not so technical. They're deep and sporadic in nature. Welcome to not so technical blog where we put science into life, and emotion into living!

Leave a Reply

